Sharon Briggs Award

Sharon Briggs
Sharon Briggs

This award represents the highest honor conferred by the Women’s District of Columbia Golf Association. The Briggs Award for Distinguished Service is given periodically to an individual who has made an extraordinary contribution to the advancement of golf. It honors the person who has worked unselfishly to promote the best aspects of the game. Named for the late Sharon Briggs, a championship golfer from Montgomery Village Country Club, the award recognizes the attributes that Sharon exhibited so admirably throughout her life: selfless dedication to the betterment of the game, generous service to the golf community, appreciation for the ways in which the game can help others, and an exemplary sense of sportsmanship and fair play, both on and off the course.

Sharon Briggs Nomination Form

Award Recipients

Joan Coffman
Joan & Edgar Coffman

2011, Joan Coffman

  • USGA member for 50 years and became a USGA Rules Official.
  • Organized numerous USGA Junior Girls Qualifying tournaments.
  • Member of USGA Junior Girls Rules Committee in 1990-2011.
  • Worked several US Women’s Opens.  Rules Official for Annika Sorenstam at Pine Needles in which Sorenstam won.
  • WDCGA member since 1960.
  • Served as chair on numerous WDCGA committees before becoming President.
  • WDCGA President 1984-1985
  • Sponsor of the WDCGA Coffman Cup since 1986.
  • 1989 Winner of WDCGA President’s Plate.
  • WDCGA Rules Official
  • Held most of the WGCC WGA committee and officer positions
  • WGCC WGA Rules Official up to present
  • WGCC WGA President
  • Seven time WGCC WGA Club Champion.
  • Ford’s Colony Club Champion, 1985.
  • USGA Rules instructor at numerous schools, Women’s Eastern.
  • B.S. Western Maryland College, McDaniel College in Westminster, MD
  • M.S. in Education at American University, Washington, DC
  • Fourth Grade Teacher at Haycock Elementary School, Fairfax County for many years.
  • Taught enlisted men to gain 8th grade education at Ft. Benning, GA and Ft. Knox, KY
  • Born in New Jersey & married Ed Coffman in 1954
  • Athletic, majorette, swimmer, walker, reader of mysteries & golfer
  • Currently resides in McLean, Va and Fords Colony, Williamsburg, VA

Ann Bergquist
Ann Bergquist

2006, Ann Bergquist

  • Instigator of inaugural Maryland State Golf Association (MSGA) Women’s Senior Tournament – 1985
  • Member Founding Committee Maryland State Golf Association – Women’s Division (MSGA-WD) 1995
  • Recipient Distinguished Service Award (MSGA-WD) 1996
  • Member Kenwood Country Club (KCC) Board of Governors 1985-1992 and 1996-1999
  • Chairman KCC Women’s Golf Association 1985-1986
  • Chairman KCC Golf Committee 1989
  • KCC Delegate to MSGA-WD 1998-2006
  • Captain KCC WDCGA team 1989 and 1990
  • Recipient Jack Weber Award KCC for long term contribution to golf 1998
  • WDCGA Executive Board member 1985-1988
  • WDCGA Rules Committee Chair 1999-2000
  • WDCGA Rules Committee member 1987-2000 and 2002 –Present
  • WDCGA Handicap Committee member 1970’s to 1980’s
  • Chaired various WDCGA tournaments in mid-1980’s, 2004, 2006
  • KCC Women’s Golf Champion 1993
  • BS degree in education – University of Maryland 1947
  • MA degree in education – University of Maryland 1953
  • Widow, mother, equestrian, tennis player and golfer

Pat Kaufman
Pat Kaufman & Ruth Ann Verell

2004, Pat Kaufman

  • Member USGA Executive Committee 2008-present
  • Member USGA Women’s Committee 2002-2007
  • Member USGA Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship Committee 1998-2002, Chairman 2004-07
  • President – WDCGA 2001-2002
  • Founding President -Maryland State Golf Association-Women’s Division 1995-99
  • Member Middle Atlantic Golf Association Executive Board 2003-05
  • Member Middle Atlantic Golf Association Rules Committee 2002-present
  • B.S. Biology – Wheeling College 1966
  • M.S. Molecular Biology – West Virginia University 1970
  • J.D. – Catholic University Columbus School of Law 1979

Ruth Ann Verell
Pat Kaufman & Ruth Ann Verell

2002, Ruth Ann Verell

  • President – Virginia State Golf Association – Women’s Division 1998-99
  • President – WDCGA 1979-80
  • Member USGA Regional Associations Committee 1998-2000
  • Rules Chairman – VSGA 2001-2002
  • Rules Chairman – WDCGA 2001-2004
  • 20 –time Club Champion Belle Haven